Scrum Master Engagement mit dem Entwicklungsteam

In Kürze: Scrum Master Engagement mit dem Entwicklungsteam

Letztes Jahr habe ich eine (nicht repräsentative) Umfrage durchgeführt, wie Scrum Master ihre Zeit aufwenden, wenn sie mit einem einzigen Scrum Team arbeiten. Zur Überraschung vieler Leser belief sich das direkte Scrum Master Engagement mit einem Scrum Team von durchschnittlicher Größe und einem typischen zweiwöchigen Sprint auf etwa 12 Stunden pro Woche.

Dieses Ergebnis führte sofort zu zwei zusätzlichen Fragen: Was machen Scrum Masters den Rest der Woche, und in welcher Weise manifestiert sich die Arbeit eines Scrum Masters im Laufe der Zeit? Während die Beantwortung der obigen Frage zusätzliche Recherchen und Datenerhebungen erfordert, kann letztere bis zu einem bestimmten Grad beantwortet werden, indem man sich auf einige wenige gängige Szenarien konzentriert.

Der erste Artikel dieser Serie befasst sich daher mit dem Scrum Master Engagement mit dem Entwicklungsteam.

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: The Development Team — Berlin Product People GmbH

Die Scrum Master Verantwortlichkeiten nach dem Scrum Guide

Was die Rollenbeschreibung des Scrum Master betrifft, so ist der Scrum Guide nur auf der Metaebene umfassend, aber auf taktischer Ebene eher vage, seinem „specific tactics for using the Scrum framework vary and are described elsewhere“–Ansatz folgend:

The Scrum Master is responsible for promoting and supporting Scrum as defined in the Scrum Guide. Scrum Masters do this by helping everyone understand Scrum theory, practices, rules, and values.

The Scrum Master is a servant-leader for the Scrum Team. The Scrum Master helps those outside the Scrum Team understand which of their interactions with the Scrum Team are helpful and which aren’t. The Scrum Master helps everyone change these interactions to maximize the value created by the Scrum Team.

Da Scrum ein Rahmenwerk ist — „ein System von Regeln, Ideen oder Überzeugungen, das verwendet wird, um etwas zu planen oder zu entscheiden“ — und keine Methodik — „ein System von Vorgehensweisen, Lehren oder Studieren“ —, und angesichts der zahlreichen Faktoren, die zu den unterschiedlichen Komplexitätsstufen eines jeden Unternehmens beitragen, ist der Grad der Vagheit des Scrum Guides sowohl Segen als auch Fluch. Es ist ein Segen in dem Sinne, dass Scrum den meisten Unternehmen einen maßgeschneiderten Ansatz für opportunistische Produktentdeckung in komplexen Umgebungen bieten kann und gleichzeitig das Risiko minimiert, was sich zwangsläufig in einer verbesserten Wettbewerbsfähigkeit im Vergleich zu anderen, weniger agilen Wettbewerbern manifestiert. Es ist ein Fluch, denn diese Unbestimmtheit öffnet auch Tür und Tor für alle möglichen vorgefertigten Lösungen des agil-industriellen Komplexes öffnet, die agilen Praktikern das Leben schwer machen und „Agile“ mittlerweile einen nicht ganz einwandfreien Ruf verleihen.

Es hat auch zu zwei besonders künstlichen Personalkonstrukten in größeren Organisationen geführt, welche die Rollen des Product Owners sowie des Scrum Masters zunehmend auf die taktische Teamebene beschränken. Auf organisatorischer Ebene wird die Rolle des Product Owners oft von der Produktmanagementorganisation übernommen, während das Pendant zur Rolle des Scrum Masters der neu geschaffene Rolle des agilen Coachs oder Enterprise Coachs ist, die ich beide für unnötig halte, wenn Scrum in der richtigen Weise und nicht in einer verwässerten Cargo-Cult-Version angewendet wird.

Nehmen wir für den Rest dieses Artikels an, dass das Unternehmen Scrum wie im Scrum Guide definiert einsetzt, dass das Unternehmen — insbesondere die obere und mittlere Führungsebene — Scrum unterstützt, und dass die Scrum Teams aus fähigen und willigen Teammitgliedern bestehen. (So trauert zum Beispiel keiner der Entwickler dem einsamen Helden nach, der die Organisation in einsamen Nächten im Alleingang mit schön gestaltetem Code rettet.)

Upcoming Scrum and Liberating Stuctures training classes and workshops — Berlin Product People GmbH

Scrum Master Engagement mit dem Entwicklungsteam

Laut dem Scrum Guide unterstützt der Scrum Master das Entwicklungsteam auf folgende Weise:

The Scrum Master serves the Development Team in several ways, including:

  • Coaching the Development Team in self-organization and cross-functionality;
  • Helping the Development Team to create high-value products;
  • Removing impediments to the Development Team’s progress;
  • Facilitating Scrum events as requested or needed; and,
  • Coaching the Development Team in organizational environments in which Scrum is not yet fully adopted and understood.

Kostenloser Download:

Scrum Guide Reordered — Free Download — Berlin Product People GmbH

Lernen Sie kostenlos auf einfache Weise die Muster und Prinzipien des Scrum Guide kennen.

Nach diesem Muster gibt es drei Hauptszenarien für die Unterstützung des Teams durch den Scrum Master:

Das Szenario stabilen Scrum-Teams

In diesem Szenario arbeiten alle Teammitglieder an einem Ort, die Kommunikation erfolgt unmittelbar und direkt, und die Langlebigkeit des Teams ist bis auf die normale Fluktuation gewährleistet. Meiner Erfahrung nach wird ein solches Scrum-Team innerhalb von zwei bis vier Sprints die Grundlagen verstehen und in der Lage sein, innerhalb von 4 bis 6 Monaten regelmäßig ein wertvolles Produktinkrement zu liefern und so Vertrauen bei den Businessleuten aufzubauen. Dementsprechend kann der Scrum Master zunehmend mehr Zeit aufwenden, um sich auf Hindernisse auf organisatorischer Ebene zu konzentrieren. (Okay, das ist tautologisch. Viele Leute verwechseln jedoch immer noch ein Problem, welches das Entwicklungsteam selbst lösen kann, mit einem „Impediment“, welches der Scrum Master lösen soll.)

Im Allgemeinen kann das Muster der Zusammenarbeit eines Scrum Masters mit einem lernenden Entwicklungsteam im Laufe der Zeit so aussehen:

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: The Development Team

Der Endzustand dieser Entwicklung ist die quasi mythische „unsichtbare Präsenz“, in welcher der Scrum Master noch für gelegentliches Coaching oder Mentoring zur Verfügung steht, ansonsten aber das Entwicklungsteam vollständig selbstorganisiert arbeitet.

Wenn wir auf die Sprintebene heranzoomen, dann sieht das Scrum Master Engagement-Muster wie folgt aus:

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: Co-located Development Team — Berlin Product People GmbH

Während sich die Arbeit zu Beginn und am Ende des Sprints hauptsächlich auf die Moderation von Scrum-Ereignissen konzentriert, so ist die Mitte des Sprints der Ausbildung, auch jener von Stakeholdern, dem Coaching und dem Mentoring vorbehalten.

Das Szenario des verteilten Scrum-Teams

Dieses Scrum Master Einsatzszenario sieht im Vergleich zum ersten ähnlich aus, mit der Ausnahme, dass es aufgrund des reduzierten Interaktionsgrades länger dauert, bis das Entwicklungsteam Fortschritte macht. Abhängig von der Häufigkeit und Regelmäßigkeit, mit der sich alle Teammitglieder z.B. zu Sprint Reviews, Retrospektiven und Sprintplanungen treffen und ob sie alle mindestens einmal für eine ausreichende Zeit zusammengearbeitet haben, um einige der Tuckman-Phasen zu durchlaufen, kann dieser zusätzliche „Dehnungsfaktor“ zwischen 25 und 200 Prozent im Vergleich zum ersten Szenario betragen.

Lassen Sie mich Ihnen ein Beispiel anführen: In den Jahren 2007/2008 war ich Mitglied eines Scrum-Teams, das in Berlin und Wroclaw in Polen tätig war. Wir hatten zum Start nicht nur eine ganztägige Kick-Off-Veranstaltung in Wroclaw, sondern reisten auch für jede Sprint Review, Retrospektive und Sprintplanung von Berlin nach Wroclaw — anfangs erfolgte dies in einem wöchentlichen Rhythmus. Die Breslauer Teammitglieder besuchten uns auch in Berlin, und wir genossen die Weihnachtsfeiern gemeinsam. Kurz gesagt: Wir waren trotz der Entfernung ein funktionierendes Scrum-Team. In diesem Fall haben wir wahrscheinlich eine Verzögerung von vielleicht ein oder zwei Monaten im Vergleich zu einem Scrum Team erlebt, in welchem alle Teammitglieder in gleichen Büro arbeiten.

Das Scrum-Team Outsourcing-Szenario

Die dominante Eigenschaft eines Remote-Scrum-Teams ist die große Distanz zwischen den Teammitgliedern, welche oft zu einem nur kleinen Zeitfenster von wenigen Stunden zu Kommunikationszwecken führt. Dieses Szenario ist zum Beispiel typisch für ausgelagerte Entwicklungsarbeiten, bei denen der Product Owner und der Scrum Master oft nicht in direktem Kontakt mit dem Entwicklungsteam stehen. Außerdem treffen sich die Teammitglieder selten persönlich, um eine Beziehung aufzubauen und eine richtige Teambuilding-Phase zu durchlaufen. Darüber hinaus wird das Entwicklungsteam oft von einem Dienstleister bereitgestellt und kann einen unterschiedlichen kulturellen Hintergrund sowie Managementpraktiken aufweisen. Man versucht zwar, „Scrum“ mit dem Kunden zu sprechen, zu Hause wird jedoch klassisches Projektmanagement praktiziert. Mehr als einmal habe ich in der Vergangenheit Statusberichte von Agenturprojektleitern abgelehnt und stattdessen auf die Nützlichkeit des Sprint Reviews hingewiesen.

In diesem Szenario stehen die Scrum Master vor vier großen Herausforderungen:

  1. Der unvermeidliche Aufwand im Umgang mit Projektmanagern, die mit Scrum weniger vertraut sind.
  2. Ein erhöhter Aufwand für die Schulung der Mitglieder des Entwicklungsteams, da die Agenturen dies selten tun.
  3. Darüber hinaus ist die Bewältigung einer erhöhten Fluktuation unter den Mitgliedern des Entwicklungsteams erforderlich, da die Loyalität zu den Arbeitgebern oft geringer ist.
  4. Schließlich ist der Aufwand wesentlich größer, um Scrum-Ereignisse zu organisieren und moderieren, während gleichzeitig mit einem geringeren Ergebnisniveau zu rechnen ist.

Alle diese Aspekte fließen in ein Scrum Master Engagement-Muster ein, das diesem ähnlich ist:

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: Remote/Outsourced Development Team — Berlin Product People GmbH

Wenn Sie eine ganzheitliche Sichtweise auf die agile Produktentstehung anwenden, dann kann der zusätzliche Aufwand, der erforderlich ist, um Scrum mit einem Outsourcing-Team zum Erfolg zu führen die ursprüngliche wirtschaftliche Begründung, die überhaupt zu Outsourcing geführt hat, sehr wohl in Frage stellen. (Um die Diskussion zu vereinfachen, gehen wir davon aus, dass das Qualitätsniveau des Codes eines ausgelagerten Scrum-Teams mit dem eines lokalen Scrum-Teams vergleichbar ist.)

Scrum Master Engagement Muster – Schlussfolgerung

Wie Sie vielleicht sofort bemerken, machen zahlreiche weitere Faktoren diese drei grundlegenden Engagement-Muster komplexer, zum Beispiel:

  • Eine hohe Fluktuation der Teammitglieder; dies könnte zu einem „Täglich-grüßt-das-Murmeltier“-Szenario für den Scrum Master führen, da das Team die Tuckman-Phasen Forming, Storming und Norming immer wieder durchläuft, bevor es die Performing-Phase erreichen kann.
  • Die Größe und das Alter eines Unternehmens sowie seine Branche. (Zum Beispiel in Organisationen, die sich strikt an die funktionalen Silos und den strengen Budgetierungsansatz des industriellen Paradigmas halten.)
  • Die allgemeine Technologieaffinität des Unternehmens. (Wenn beispielsweise die „IT“ während der Phase der Shareholder-Value-Maximierung ausgelagert wurde, sind kulturelle Konflikte zwischen „dem Unternehmen“ und den Produkt-/Engineering-Teams wahrscheinlich.)
  • Unternehmen, die in stark regulierten Märkten tätig sind.
  • Eine Six Sigma-Orientierung, die zu einer „Scheitern ist keine Option“-Kultur innerhalb des Unternehmens führt, die den Grundlagen der Empirie widerspricht.

Dennoch ist ein Verständnis dieser Grundmuster hilfreich, um Scrum Master bei ihrer Planung und Nutzung ihrer Arbeitszeit zu unterstützen.

Welche Art von Scrum Master Engagement-Mustern haben Sie beobachtet? Bitte teilen Sie uns dies in den Kommentaren mit.

Scrum Master Engagement-Muster — Weiterführende Inhalte

Scrum First Principles — Mit Elon Musk zum Scrum Guide.

Scrum Master Aufgaben [Umfrageergebnisse].

Leave a reply

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: The Development Team

TL; DR: Scrum Master Engagement Patterns

Last year, I ran a (non-representative) survey on how Scrum Masters are allocating their time when working with a single Scrum Team. Much to the surprise of many readers, the direct Scrum Master engagement with a single Scrum Team of average size and a typical 2-week Sprint turned out to be about 12 hours per week.

This result immediately prompted two additional questions: What are Scrum Masters doing during the rest of the week, and in what way does a Scrum Master’s work manifest itself over time? While answering the above question requires additional research and data collection, the latter can be answered to a certain grade by focusing on a few common scenarios.

The first article of this series will address the Scrum Master engagement with the Development Team.

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: The Development Team — Berlin Product People GmbH

The Scrum Master Responsibilities According to the Scrum Guide

Regarding the job description of the Scrum Master, the Scrum Guide is only comprehensive at a meta-level but rather vague at a tactical level, following its “specific tactics for using the Scrum framework vary and are described elsewhere” approach:

The Scrum Master is responsible for promoting and supporting Scrum as defined in the Scrum Guide. Scrum Masters do this by helping everyone understand Scrum theory, practices, rules, and values.

The Scrum Master is a servant-leader for the Scrum Team. The Scrum Master helps those outside the Scrum Team understand which of their interactions with the Scrum Team are helpful and which aren’t. The Scrum Master helps everyone change these interactions to maximize the value created by the Scrum Team.

Given that Scrum is a framework — “a system of rules, ideas, or beliefs that is used to plan or decide something” —, and not a methodology — “a system of ways of doing, teaching, or studying something” —, and given the numerous factors that contribute to the varying levels of complexity of any organization, the Scrum Guide’s level of vagueness is both a blessing and a curse. It is a blessing in the sense that Scrum can provide for most organizations a tailored approach to opportunistic, emergent product discovery in complex environments while mitigating the risk that will inevitably manifest itself in strengthened competitiveness by comparison to less agile competitors. It is a curse, as this level of vagueness also opens the floodgates for all sorts of pre-packaged “agile out of the box” solutions by the agile-industrial complex, mudding the water for everyone and giving “agile” a checkered reputation.

It has also led to two particularly artificial constructs in mainly larger organizations over time, confining the roles of the Product Owner as well as the Scrum Master to the tactical team-level. At the organizational level, the Product Owner role is often handled by the product management organization, while the pendant to the Scrum Master role is the newly created agile coach or enterprise coach, both of which I consider unnecessary if Scrum is applied in the right manner and not in some watered-down cargo cult version.

Let us assume for the rest of this article that the organization is applying Scrum as defined in the Scrum Guide, that the organization — particularly the leadership level and the middle management level — is supportive of Scrum, and that the Scrum Teams are comprised of able and willing team members. (So, for example, no engineers are mourning the demise of the hero-developer, who single-handedly saves the organization with beautifully crafted code while burning the midnight oil.)

Upcoming Scrum and Liberating Stuctures training classes and workshops — Berlin Product People GmbH

Scrum Master Engagement with the Development Team

According to the Scrum Guide, the Scrum Master supports the Development Team in the following ways:

The Scrum Master serves the Development Team in several ways, including:

  • Coaching the Development Team in self-organization and cross-functionality;
  • Helping the Development Team to create high-value products;
  • Removing impediments to the Development Team’s progress;
  • Facilitating Scrum events as requested or needed; and,
  • Coaching the Development Team in organizational environments in which Scrum is not yet fully adopted and understood.

Following this layout, there are three main scenarios for the Scrum Master’s support of the team:

Free download:

Scrum Guide Reordered — Free Download — Berlin Product People GmbH

Learn about the Scrum Guide’s patterns and principles in an easy way.

The Co-located, Stable Scrum Team Scenario

In this scenario, everyone is co-located, communication is immediate and direct, and the team’s longevity is granted except for the average fluctuation. In my experience, such a Scrum Team will grasp the basic within two to four Sprints and will be able to deliver a valuable Product Increment regularly within 4 to 6 months, thus building trust among the business folks. Accordingly, the Scrum Master can free up increasingly more time to focus on impediments at an organizational level. (Agreed, this is tautological. However, many people still confuse a problem the Development Team can solve itself with an “impediment.”)

Generally, a Scrum Master‘s pattern of engagement with a maturing Development Team over time may look like something like this:

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: The Development Team

The end state of this development is the quasi-mythical “invisible presence,” where the Scrum Master is still available for the occasional coaching or mentoring, but otherwise, the Development Team is fully self-organizing.

If we zoom in to the Sprint level, the Scrum Master engagement pattern looks as follows:

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: Co-located Development Team — Berlin Product People GmbH

While the Sprint start and end are mainly focused on facilitation events, the middle of the Sprint is dedicated to teaching — also stakeholders —, coaching, and mentoring.

The Distributed Scrum Team Scenario

This Scrum Master engagement scenario looks similar by comparison to the first one except that it takes longer for the Development Team to mature due to the reduced level of interaction. Depending on the frequency and regularity with which all team members meet, for example, for Sprint Reviews, Retrospectives, and Sprint Plannings, and whether they all met at least once for a sufficient length of time to go through some of the Tuckman stages, this “stretching factor” can make up anything between 25 to 200 percent.

Let me provide you with an example: Back in 2007/2008, I was a member of a Scrum Team that was split between Berlin and Wroclaw in Poland. We did not only have a day-long kick-off event in Wroclaw, but we also traveled from Berlin to Wrocöaw for every Sprint Review, Retrospective, and Sprint Planning. The Wroclaw team members were also visiting us in Berlin, and we enjoyed Christmas parties together. In short: We were a functional Scrum Team despite the distance. In this case, we probably experienced a delay of perhaps one or two months by comparison to a co-located team.

The Remote, Outsourced Scrum Team Scenario

A remote Scrum Team’s dominating characteristic is the vast distance between the team members, often resulting in a short window of a few hours of communication time over the day. This scenario is typical for outsourced development work, where often the Product Owner and the Scrum Master are not in direct contact with the Development Team. Also, the team members seldom meet in-person to build rapport and go through a proper team-building phase. Additionally, the Development Team is often provided by a service provider and may have a different cultural background as well as management practices. While trying to talk Scrum to the client, the developers often talk waterfall at home, thus practicing known Scrum anti-patterns. More than once, I have rejected reports from agency project managers, pointing at the Sprint Review instead.

In this scenario, Scrum Masters face four main challenges:

  1. The inevitable overhead of dealing with project managers less familiar with Scrum.
  2. An increased effort to train the members of the Development Team, as the agencies rarely do this.
  3. Additionally, dealing with an increased level of fluctuation among Development Team members as loyalty to employers is often lower.
  4. Lastly, providing a substantially more considerable effort to facilitate remote Scrum events while dealing with a lesser outcome level at the same time.

All of these aspects feed into a Scrum Master engagement pattern similar to this one:

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns: Remote/Outsourced Development Team — Berlin Product People GmbH

If you apply a holistic view to agile product creation, the additional effort that is required to make Scrum work, the likely reduced outcome of the Scrum team’s collaboration, and the inevitable delay in product delivery — here: think cost of delay — may very well challenge the original economic rationale that led to outsourcing in the first place. (To simplify the discussion, we assume that the quality level of the code of an outsourced Scrum Team is comparable to that of a co-located Scrum Team.)

Scrum Master Engagement Pattern—Conclusion

As you may immediately notice, numerous factors make these three basic support patterns more complex. For example, there is:

  • A high turnover of team members; this might result in a Groundhog-Day-scenario for the Scrum Master, as the team goes through the Tuckman stages of forming, storming, and norming over and over again, before it may reach the performing stage.
  • The size and age of an organization as well as its industry. (For example, organizations that strictly adhere to the functional silo and strict budgeting approach of the industrial paradigm.)
  • The general technology affinity of the organization. (For example, if “IT” was outsourced during the shareholder value maximization phase, culture clashes between “the business” and the product/engineering teams will be likely.)
  • Organizations that operate in highly regulated markets.
  • A Six Sigma orientation, resulting in a “failure is not an option” culture within the organization, contradicting the fundamentals of empiricism.

Nevertheless, an understanding of these basic patterns is helpful to support Scrum Masters with their planning and resource allocation.

What kind of Scrum Master engagement patterns have you observed? Please share with us in the comments.

Scrum Master Engagement Patterns — Related Content

Scrum First Principles — How to Elon Musk the Scrum Guide.

Hey Scrum Master — What Are You Doing all Day? [Survey Results].

Tags: Development Team, Scrum Guide, Scrum Master

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *